Virtual Issue: An annual meeting in absentia

Virtual Issue: An annual meeting in absentia

Several of our virtual issues have been created in honor of conferences around the world, celebrating their efforts to bring together researchers to share insights, new technology, and camaraderie. This virtual issue instead attempts to capture some of the moments we might have shared at the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting had it not been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. For this collection, we identified all of the recent papers published in the three ASBMB journals – JBC, JLR and MCP – coauthored by scientists scheduled to speak at the conference, and selected a subset that we hope captures the range of scientific topics that would have been on display; this group does not include the papers from our Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator awardees, which can be found here. Since conferences provide a great opportunity to catch up with old friends and make new ones, we’ve ordered the papers alphabetically using the first name of each speaker. While no collection of papers can replace the excitement and stimulation of meeting in person, we hope this brief sample helps you travel through fascinating scientific waters in lieu of travelling to San Diego.

The cover art shows viral infection kinetics read out from living cells using reporters that become fluorescent upon cleavage by a viral protease, as described by Arias-Arias et al. The staining of the viral plaques is reminiscent of maps of the spread of SARS-CoV-2 around the world, leading to cancellation of the ASBMB Annual Meeting. Artwork by Lisa Schnabel.

Assembled by Catherine Goodman and Anand Rao; published April 2020

Find more virtual issues

Award Winners

Anita Corbett is the winner of the ASBMB Mid-Career Leadership Award
Celia Schiffer is the winner of the William C. Rose Award
Carol Fierke is the winner of the Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry
David Pagliarini is the winner of the Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award
Ed Dennis is the winner of the Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science
Jean Schaffer is the winner of the Avanti Award in Lipids