JBC/Herb Tabor Young Investigator Award Program

JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award logo

The JBC Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator Awards honor Tabor’s invaluable contributions to science as a whole and to JBC specifically, where he served as editor-in-chief from 1971-2012. The awards recognize the innovators and achievers in new generations of researchers who exemplify Tabor’s values of creativity and scientific excellence.

From 2011-2017, awards were given by JBC associate editors to promising young researchers at scientific symposia and meetings throughout the year. Students, postdoctoral researchers, and untenured faculty members were eligible. The award included a crystal statuette and a $1,000 prize.

Learn more about previous award winners and their research:

2012 JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winners

  • Oberdoerffer

    Shalini Oberdoerffer

    Investigator at the National Cancer Institute

    Award given at the Keystone Symposium on Epigenomics

  • Yan

    Shannon Yan

    Graduate Student at the University of California, Berkeley

    Award given at the Biophysical Society 56th Annual Meeting

  • Tomé

    Stéphanie Tomé

    Postdoctoral researcher at the Hospital for Sick Children and the University of Toronto

    Award given at the 7th International Conference on Unstable Microsatellites and Human Disease

  • Bell

    Catherine Bell

    Graduate Student at the MRC Centre for Drug Safety Science at the University of Liverpool

    Award given at the 19th Microsomes and Drug Oxidations Meeting and 12th Meeting of the International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics

  • Horvath

    Susanne Horvath

    Postdoctoral researcher at the University of Technology (TUG)

    Award given at the 53rd International Conference on the Bioscience of Lipids (ICBL) and Canadian Lipoprotein Conference (CLC)

  • Rathinam

    Vijay Rathinam

    Postdoctoral fellow at the University of Massachusetts Medical School

    Award given at Cytokines 2012: 10th Joint Meeting of The International Cytokine Society (ICS) and the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research (ISICR)

  • Naba

    Alexandra Naba

    Postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Award given at the Joint Meeting of the American Society for Matrix Biology and the Society for Glycobiology

  • Ding

    Xu Ding

    Project scientist at the University of California, San Diego

    Award given at the Joint Meeting of the American Society for Matrix Biology and the Society for Glycobiology

  • Duce

    James Duce

    Senior research scientist and group leader at the University of Leeds

    Award given at the Neurodegeneration Conference 2012