JBC/Herb Tabor Young Investigator Award Program

JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award logo

The JBC Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator Awards honor Tabor’s invaluable contributions to science as a whole and to JBC specifically, where he served as editor-in-chief from 1971-2012. The awards recognize the innovators and achievers in new generations of researchers who exemplify Tabor’s values of creativity and scientific excellence.

From 2011-2017, awards were given by JBC associate editors to promising young researchers at scientific symposia and meetings throughout the year. Students, postdoctoral researchers, and untenured faculty members were eligible. The award included a crystal statuette and a $1,000 prize.

Learn more about previous award winners and their research:

2013 JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winners

  • Kuchibhotla

    Kishore Kuchibhotla

    Postdoctoral fellow at the New York University School of Medicine

    Award given at AD/PD™ 2013: The 11th International Conference on Alzheimer’s & Parkinson’s Diseases

  • Nagy

    Nadine Nagy

    Postdoctoral fellow at the Benaroya Research Institute

    Award given at HA 2013: International Hyaluronan Conference

  • Pasonen-Sappanën

    Sanna Pasonen-Sappanën

    Assistant professor at the University of Eastern Finland

    Award given at HA 2013: International Hyaluronan Conference

  • Cheruzel

    Lionel Cheruzel

    Assistant professor at San Jose State University in California

    Award given at the 18th International Conference on Cytochrome P450: Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structure

  • Gordon

    Sarah Gordon

    Postdoctoral researcher at the University of Edinburgh

    Award given at the 5th Conference on Advances in Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Neurological Disorders

  • Coulson-Thomas

    Vivian Jane Coulson-Thomas

    Postdoctoral fellow at the University of Cincinnati

    Award given at the 8th International Proteoglycan Conference

  • Loizides-Mangold

    Ursula Loizides-Mangold

    Senior scientist at the University of Geneva

    Award given at the 54th International Conference on Bioscience of Lipids

  • Prokunina-Olsson

    Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson

    Investigator at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health

    Award given at Cytokines 2013: 11th Joint Meeting of The International Cytokine Society (ICS) and The International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research (ISICR)