JBC/Herb Tabor Young Investigator Award Program

JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award logo

The JBC Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator Awards honor Tabor’s invaluable contributions to science as a whole and to JBC specifically, where he served as editor-in-chief from 1971-2012. The awards recognize the innovators and achievers in new generations of researchers who exemplify Tabor’s values of creativity and scientific excellence.

From 2011-2017, awards were given by JBC associate editors to promising young researchers at scientific symposia and meetings throughout the year. Students, postdoctoral researchers, and untenured faculty members were eligible. The award included a crystal statuette and a $1,000 prize.

Learn more about previous award winners and their research:

2014 JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winners

  • Jayaraj

    Gopal Gunanathan Jayaraj

    Graduate student at the CSIR Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology

    Award given at the International Conference on Chemical Biology: Disease Mechanism & Therapeutics (ICCB-2014)

  • DeVilbiss

    Andrew DeVilbiss

    Graduate student at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

    Award given at the Midwest Chromatin and Epigenetics Meeting (MCEM)

  • Sadeghi

    Sheila Sadeghi

    Lecturer at the University of Torino

    Award given at the 20th International Symposium on Microsomes and Drug Oxidations

  • Burke

    John Burke

    Assistant Professor at the University of Victoria

    Award given at the FASEB Conference on Phospholipid Cell Signaling and Metabolism in Inflammation and Cancer

  • Izreig

    Said Izreig

    Graduate student at McGill University

    Award given at the FASEB Conference on AMPK: Biological Action and Therapeutic Perspectives

  • Chung

    Yeongseok Chung

    Assistant professor at Seoul National University

    Award given at the International Cytokine and Interferon Meeting, Cytokines 2014