JBC/Herb Tabor Young Investigator Award Program

JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award logo

The JBC Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator Awards honor Tabor’s invaluable contributions to science as a whole and to JBC specifically, where he served as editor-in-chief from 1971-2012. The awards recognize the innovators and achievers in new generations of researchers who exemplify Tabor’s values of creativity and scientific excellence.

From 2011-2017, awards were given by JBC associate editors to promising young researchers at scientific symposia and meetings throughout the year. Students, postdoctoral researchers, and untenured faculty members were eligible. The award included a crystal statuette and a $1,000 prize.

Learn more about previous award winners and their research:

2015 JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winners

  • Ramani

    Biswarathan Ramani

    Graduate student at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

    Award given at the 8th International Conference on Unstable Microsatellites and Human Disease

  • Paul

    Bindu Paul

    Instructor at Johns Hopkins University

    Award given at the 3rd European Conference on the Biology of Hydrogen Sulfide

  • Baba

    Takashi Baba

    Assistant professor at Kyushu University

    Award given at the 19th International Conference on Cytochrome P450

  • Racca

    Ana Racca

    Postdoctoral researcher at the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba

    Award given at the 56th International Conference on the Bioscience of Lipids (ICBL)

  • Roza Nurieva

    Assistant Professor at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

    Award given at the Cytokines 2015 International Meeting

  • Barb

    Adam Barb

    Assistant professor at Iowa State University

    Award given at the 2015 Society for Glycobiology Meeting

  • Rik van der Kant

    Rik van der Kant

    Postdoctoral researcher at the University of California, San Diego

    Award given at the 2nd Zing Neurodegeneration Conference